Apple Pay arrives at Uber Eats in almost 20 markets – TechCrunch


Apple Pay has been an in-app payment option for Uber since the fall of 2014, but the payment option did not reach Uber's food delivery application, Uber Eats. Now this is changing. Uber today announced that users who want to use Apple Pay can finally do so using FaceID or TouchID in the Uber Eats app, instead of filling out their billing information.

Uber and Uber Eats had already supported several payment options, including credit and debit cards, as well as PayPal and Venmo. The latest – Venmo – has just been introduced to Uber apps in 2018, after discovering that more than 6 million payouts at Venmo had mentioned "Uber" last year. Venmo is also a useful service for when you need to split the cost of food orders and tours with friends, he had said.

Apple Pay is a direct competitor to PayPal and Venmo, which offer payment solutions for native mobile applications. But big brands are attracted to Apple Pay because of the ease of use of a built-in payment option, which can help boost conversion rates.

Today, Apple Pay runs on apps like Fandango, Groupon, Airbnb, Hotel Tonight, Etsy, Staples, Instacart, Lyft and many others. In addition, several of Uber Eats' competitors already offer Apple Pay, including Postmates, Grubhub, Seamless and other food and beverage ordering applications such as Starbucks, Dunkin, Chipotle and Panera.

Uber claims the privacy and security of Apple Pay in their ad – noting that the service means that the actual numbers on the cards are not stored on the Apple device or servers. Instead, a unique device account number is assigned, encrypted, and stored in the secure element on the end-user device, he explains. Each transaction is then authorized with a unique and unique dynamic security code.

Apple Pay will be launched on Uber Eats beginning in the coming weeks for almost 20 markets including Belgium, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, The Netherlands. , The United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States.


Source link