Washington to boycott five Chinese technology companies


The United States has imposed sanctions on five Chinese technology companies as part of the US-China trade war days before a meeting between Presidents Donald Trump and Xi Jinping on the sidelines of the G-20 summit in Japan.

On Friday, the US Commerce Department listed Sogon Electronics, three of its chip factories and a Chinese military information institute on the list of companies prohibited from selling technology devices in the United States. Trump said the companies "have acted against national security or foreign policy interests in the United States."

Strong trade tensions between the two largest economic powers in the world have affected the technology sector as Washington has banned Huawei from acquiring US technology for security reasons. In response, Beijing has announced the establishment of its blacklist of "unreliable" foreign companies.

However, the United States and China have decided to resume dialogue at the highest level to try to prevent the commercial escalation whose consequences can not be expected.


Source link