First Swedish wins the 25th Laguna Phuket Triathlon


TRIATHLON: The Swedish Fredrik Croneborg finished first and gave the first Swedish champion Laguna Phuket Triathlon (LPT) in its 25 year history today (November 18).

Fredrik Croneborg of Sweden celebrated his victory that made the history of the LPT.

At 02:21:39 pm, Croneborg claimed his title less than 2 minutes before his toughest challenger, Bart Aernouts (Belgium), who recently took second place on the podium at the World Championship in Kona. Followed in third was Per Van Vlerken of Germany, timed 2: 24: 2.

Also running with the number 1 to honor his LPT title four times was Massimo Cigana from Italy who came in fourth at 02:27 am while the cheering crowd applauded in a field of more than 1,000 triathletes representing 50 countries in the single destination distance of 1.8K of swimming, 50k of bike and 12K of race, with prize of $ 20.000,00.

In the women's category, world champion and LPT rookie, Annabel Luxford of Australia finished first in 02:39:50. It followed Luxford in second was his Australian counterpart Dimity Lee-Duke (02:42:08), who then saw his follower, the Hungarian Anna Eberhardt in third, timed 02:46:21.

The transition area of ​​the race is located in Laguna Grove, in the heart of Asia's premier destination resort, Laguna Phuket. The start of the beachfront run of the resort was comfortable, with mild weather and small waves of the Andaman Sea. Bike and race racing became a challenge when the heat of Phuket came on the scene.

"I was second on the podium before the LPT, so it's great to win today," said Croneborg, who has been training in Phuket for years,


"I know all the corners of the course and it helped a lot to know the bicycle route that I had to fight a lot today. I had a good swimming leg and I tried to keep the other guys away on the race course, "he concluded today's performance with his big smile.

Wowing the Thai crowd was defending champions in the fields of men and women; Jaray Jearanai was once again the first Thai finisher (at 02:34:26), breaking his own record last year and winning his eighth consecutive LPT win (since 2011), and Nichakarn Ruttanaporn at 03:11:58.

In the "25 For 25 Sprint" category, newly launched this year with a 25km race distance (swim 0.5km, pedal 18.5km and 6km combined) to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the British LPT in Phuket; Oliver Trott (in 01:02:21) and Sam Mcinnes (01:12:11) finished first in the men's and women's categories.

Today's race followed the LPT Charity Fun Run, which happened yesterday and participated in 1,500 runners in the categories 2K Kids, 5K and 10K. The LPT Charity Fun Run raised $ 250,000 for the Children First Fund in support of seven orphanages in Phuket, housing more than 400 children.


Source link