Sunday , August 25 2019
Home / philippines / Raheem Sterling Named FWA Footballer of the Year

Raheem Sterling Named FWA Footballer of the Year

Raheem Sterling was named the Football Writers Association's Best Player of the Year.

And it was a delight for Manchester City, with Nikita Parris winning the women's award.

Sterling was praised for his performances alongside Pep Guardiola, who seek to retain the Premier League title but also for his strong stance against racism in the game.

He was awarded the PFA Young Player of the Year award Sunday night and continues with the FWA award less than 24 hours later.

He wrote on Instagram: "Very proud with PFA Young Player of the Year, and truly grateful. Amazing support for the whole season, let's go for more !!!"

Raheem Sterling poses with a trophy

Sterling scored 17 goals in the Premier League, four behind Golden Boot pitcher Mohamed Salah and has 29 goals in all competitions.

He also has 10 assists, the same as City teammate Leroy Sane, and is a clear winner with 62% of the total votes of more than 400 FWA members.

He received 100 votes more than PFA player of the year Virgil van Dijk, who finished second with City team mate Sergio Aguero in third.

The 24-year-old became the first Manchester City winner to win the oldest individual football prize, first awarded in 1948 for 50 years.

Former musician Tony Book shared the 1969 award with Derby's Dave Mackay.

Sterling enjoyed an excellent campaign

FWA President Carrie Brown praised Sterling for her off-field impact as well as field performances.

She said: "Raheem Sterling is a style player and a man of substance.

"More than 70 years ago, Charles Buchan, one of the founders of the Footballer Writers Association, suggested that a prize be awarded to the player who, by" precept and example ", is considered the Best Player of the Year.

"Raheem Sterling is an example of the talent and values ​​our founders sought to reward when they established the FWA in 1947.

Sterling celebrates against Chelsea in February

"Having been voted the 2019 Player of the Year by our members, and with an overwhelming majority, he clearly recognizes a player's contribution in a season, but also recognizes the enormous impact of Raheem's courage to challenge prejudice and fight racism, which will leave a legacy not only for future generations in football but for society as a whole.

"Eyes have been opened, voices are found, we are listening and we will be at the forefront of the ongoing quest for equality.

"On the field, Raheem has evolved into one of the most dangerous attackers in the world. A player long admired for his tactical intelligence, fast-paced gameplay and fast feet have now added a devastating ending to his game.

He was also recognized at the BT Sports Industry Awards

"The opening game of Manchester City's team against Tottenham in the Etihad stadium drew comparisons with Lionel Messi's goal against Manchester United. We are approaching a time when the Barcelona maestro will be forced to look closely at the rising star of Sterling? " ?

"Raheem did not set out to be a leader, but he is giving examples in society and in the game that the world is following with interest.

Manchester City's Nikita Parris won the women's prize, taking Arsenal's Vivianne Miedema to the award for a single vote.

Nikita Parris was the winner of the women's award

Parris won by a single vote (11-10) in the second stage.

The 25-year-old striker from the city and England beats English striker Fran Kirby, who won the first prize in May.

Steph Houghton, the captain of England and Manchester City, was third.

see More Information

Top Football Mirror Stories

Source link