Thursday , August 5 2021

Scott McLaughlin takes Bathurst 1000 pole with incredible lap – Motorsport

Scott McLaughlin made history once again at Mount Panorama, taking pole for tomorrow's Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 with the fastest lap of the iconic track in Supercar history.

He and co-driver Alex Premat will start tomorrow's race alongside Chaz Mostert and James Moffat. Cameron Waters / Michael Caruso and Jamie Whincup / Craig Lowndes make up the second row, with Shane van Gisbergen set to start fifth with co-driver Garth Tander.

The session was under threat of potential rain. But instead it remained dry for the duration – cold temperatures being the main deviation compared to yesterday's race.

See More Information: Who will win the Bathurst 1000? We have classified the field Supercars in full

The first rider on the track was Anton de Pasquale in the only Penrite Erebus Motorsport Holden Commodore in the top 10. After a lap lap – irregular on curve 1 – a reference value of 2: 04.383 was set.

Time could not be beaten by the next challenger, Mark Winterbottom, but Cameron Waters ruined everything. A slippery lap underscored by a hairy side moment in Reid Park saw the Monster Ford Mustang rider set the first three. – a 2: 03.978.

Waters' time seemed good enough to pole, but was immediately threatened by Jamie Whincup. After fighting in qualifying, Whincup looked much sharper in the dry. A hesitant moment at McPhillamy Park and the spinning wheel coming out of Forest Elbow were the only problems with the ride. He ended up shading Waters, just three hundredths behind.

Brad Jones Racing's two riders Nick Percat and Tim Slade were next on the track. But neither got the time of Waters or Whincup (Percat complaining about lack of grip after 2: 04.670).

Will Davison was next to leave, between Whincup and De Pasquale. Van Gisbergen followed, falling right in front of Davison with a typical, charismatic lap. This left only the two important tips for the session; Mostert and McLaughlin.

Mostert, as expected, was incredibly fast. Sectors indicated that he was continuing the pact he showed in the latest practice, and by the end of a lap that he used the entire road (and a little sideways at McPhillamy Park), he was ahead at 2: 03.789.

Mostert's time seemed very competitive until his main rival, McLaughlin, reached the first intermediate sector with a thick margin of three tenths. He added in kind to this margin in the second sector with similar confidence. And without making mistakes during the rest of the lap, he played a monumental 2: 03.378. The lap is the fastest lap in qualifying history at Bathurst 1000 – and the second time McLaughlin did the feat in the top 10 of the top stakes.

McLaughlin's pace is clear to be judged by the expansion of the field. Kiwi's first place to van Gisbergen is seven tenths, while first to tenth has a spread of 1.6 seconds.

While the lap was impressive, rivals will notice the "unlucky" against those who claim pole position for & # 39; The Great Race & # 39 ;. For the past 10 years, those on pole have only won the race themselves once.

Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, the top 10 shooting results

1. Scott McLaughlin / Alex Premat
2. Chaz Mostert / James Moffat
3. Cameron Waters / Michael Caruso
4. Jamie Whincup / Craig Lowndes
5. Shane van Gisbergen / Garth Tander
6. Will Davison / Alex Davison
7. Anton de Pasquale / Will Brown
8. Nick Percat / Tim Blanchard
9. Tim Slade / Ash Walsh
10. Mark Winterbottom / Steve Richards

Source link