Google comes with option to have data deleted automatically after three months – IT Pro – News



[ad_1]

Google comes with an option where users can choose to have data that the search giant keeps automatically deleted after three or eighteen months. Data has been deleted from the account.

With "Location History" and "Web & App Activity" tracking options, Google displays a window when the feature is active, allowing users to choose to save data until they are deleted manually, three months, or eighteen months .

After activating the feature, Google will automatically delete the data after the specified period of three or eighteen months, the company says. This happens all the time. It is unclear if the data only disappears from the user's account or if Google does not store it on its own servers.

Google uses the data to customize services and make your ads more targeted. All Google advertising products rely on the data that the company collects on users, and the company relies on ads for much of its revenue. Turning on Web and app activity tracking is required to, among other things, install Google Home speakers and search for places you've visited or favorites on Google Maps.

Update, 19:37: Google says the same retention policy applies to auto-exclusion and other exclusions. Tools that measure popularity, such as Google Trends or YouTube view counters, keep anonymous counting. "We are immediately initiating the process of removing data from our systems – it can no longer be used to customize your Google experience, such as customizing ads."

[ad_2]

Source link