Police criminalize charges of preventing people from voting in Islampur, north of Dinajpur


Eastern states Lok Sabha Election vote Latest updatesWest Bengal police and the RAF had to fire tear gas bombs to disperse the shakers blocking the NH-31 at Chopra in Darjeeling, newspapers reported. The criminals were trying to stop people from voting in the election of Lok Sabha.

Congressional candidate Silchar Sushmita Dev said that it is the BJP that is under pressure, not her. "Congress does not sell false dreams," he said.

Meanwhile, Congressman and electorate candidate Raiganj in 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Deepa Das Munshi said News18: "We have seen that the 78 percent booths have central strength, but where strength has not been deployed, our search agents were not allowed to enter. I am not satisfied." Munshi said that "TMC workers are involved in violence."

The vote was suspended at Bagdogra booth 25/47 under the Darjeeling district after a black ribbon was found on the BJP symbol on EVM, India Today reported.

By 9 am, 17 percent of the searches were registered in Darjeeling. Whereas, about 15 percent of the searches were registered in the constituency of Assam, Silchar Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the overall percentage of votes in West Bengal was 12.43% at 9 am.

Voting was delayed in several places, including in Assam and Odisha, due to EVM malfunctioning. Voting is still to begin at booth number 29/134 at the Islampur Hindi FP School of Uttar Dinajpur in the Raiganj constituency, as the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) at the booth is not working.

The Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machine stopped working in one of Silchar's voting booths in Assam. Meanwhile, in West Bengal, the Darjeeling constituency candidate for the Communist Party of India (Marxist) Saman Pathak voted for the Margaret School in Siliguri.

In Assamfive seats, including the Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District, Mangaldoi and Nawgong constituencies, will vote. In OrissaThe seats of Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska Lok Sabha will go to the polls. Tripura East is the only seat of the Northeast Eastern State Tripura which will be voted on April 18. Three constituencies of Lok Sabha in West Bengal – Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling and Raiganj will go to the polls in the second round of Thursday's election. Of the two constituencies in Manipur, Inner Manipur will go to the vote on April 18.

A total of 97 parliamentary constituencies scattered across 12 states and one Union Territory (UT) will go to the polls in the second round of the ongoing Lok Sabha election in 2019 on April 18.

The states that go to the elections in phase 2 of the general elections are Assam (5 seats), Bihar (5 seats), Chhattisgarh (3 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (2 seats), Karnataka (14 seats), Maharashtra places), Manipur (1 place), Odisha (5 places), Tamil Nadu (38 places), Tripura (1 place), Uttar Pradesh (8 places), West Bengal (3 places) and Puducherry (1 place).

In Tamil Nadu, all 39 seats were to be voted on until Lok Sabha's election to Vellore's electorate was canceled on Tuesday after seizing money from a DMK candidate's office a few days ago. The Electoral Commission of India (EC) took the decision after the district police filed a complaint against the defendant, Kathir Anand, a candidate of Vellore DMK, as well as two party officials based on a report from the Department of Income Tax in April 10 President Ram Nath Kovind rescinded the notification to keep the election to the seat based on the recommendation made by the voting panel.

The voting time for the second phase elections shall be from 7 to 18 hours. The eastern states that will go to the polls on April 18 – Assam, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura and West Bengal.

In Odisha, more than 76,933 voters will decide the fate of 279 candidates, including Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Union Minister Jual Oram, in the second phase of the search for five seats in Lok Sabha and 35 seats in the Assembly. Of the total electorate of 76,93,123, there are 37,47,493 women electors. At least 605 voters belong to the third genre.

"Preparations for the second phase of the polls have reached the final stage and the necessary steps have been taken to ensure free, fair and peaceful voting in 9,117 booths," said Surendra Kumar, vice president of elections.

The Trinamool Congress in West Bengal and the BJP are the top candidates in the three seats that will see a four-way dispute between the two parties, the Congress and the Left Front.

Voters saw the campaign by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the state's chief minister and former TMC chief, Mamata Banerjee, BJP president Amit Shah, and the head of Congress, Rahul Gandhi, who raised a ranging from corruption to communism, NRC and frauds. for safety.

TMC introduced Bijoy Chandra Barman against Jayanta Kumar Roy of the BJP in Jalpaiguri's constituency, where Congressional Moni Kumar Darnal and CPM's Bhagirath Chandra Roy are also in contention.

In Darjeeling, TMC named Amar Singh Rai is going to fight against BJP Raju Bisht, Congress Sankar Malakar and CPM Saman Pathak. TMC has appointed Kanhaiyalal Agarwal in Raiganj to Md Salim of CPM, Deepa Dasmunshi of Congress, and Debashree Chowdhury of BJP.

The seat of Jalpaiguri is reserved as it has a large population of backward communities working mainly in the tea gardens. There are also a considerable number of Nepalese and people from the Rajbangshi community.

<! –

Firstpost is now at WhatsApp. For the latest reviews, comments and news updates, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.


Your guide to the latest news, reviews, comments, live updates and timeline of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 election at firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or enjoy our Facebook page for updates from all 543 electoral districts for the upcoming general elections.


Source link