DC gets third after KXIP victory – Firstcricket News, Firstpost


The glamorous and star-studded Indian Premier League (IPL) enters its 12th edition in 2019, with longtime rivals Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) locking horns in the opening clash of the event in Chennai at Saturday, March 23.

Representative picture. Image credit: Indian Premier League official Facebook page

Representative picture. Image credit: Indian Premier League official Facebook page

The tournament is much more important for international teams this year given the ICC World Cup which will be played in England and Wales less than three weeks after the final. This, in turn, has led the franchises to outline plans for top-class workloads, although some have commented on the T20 tournament as an ideal way for players to warm up for the big ICC event later this summer.

Both Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals (RR) have reached the knockout phase of the 2018 edition after serving a two-year suspension on corruption charges. CSK led by MS Dhoni completed the fairy tale by defeating the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) comfortably in the final in Mumbai, raising the trophy for the third time as a result.

Chennai is now on the same level as Mumbai Indians (MI) led by Rohit Sharma in terms of number of title victories as a result.

In addition to the fact that the tournament is taking place before a World Cup instead of later, as was the case in 2011 and 2015, this edition is unique for a completely different reason. The Committee of Administrators (COA) has previously announced its decision to undo the IPL's opening ceremony, stating that the funds will be donated to the families of CRPF staff who were killed in the Pulwama terrorist attack on 14 February.

The CSK has made a decision along the same lines, stating that the proceeds from the sale of tickets for the opening show against RCB will be donated to the families mentioned.

Here is the full dot chart for the IPL 2019:

Team Position Matches Has won Lost Tied RR network Points
CSK 1 9 7 2 0 +0,101 14
MI 2 10 6 4 0 +0.357 12
A.D 3 10 6 4 0 +0,160 12
KXIP 4 10 5 5 0 -0.044 10
SRH 5 8 4 4 0 +0,549 8
KKR 6 9 4 5 0 +0,256 8
RR 7 9 3 6 0 -0.474 6
RCB 8 9 2 7 0 -0.938 4

Here's a look at the current holders of orange and purple caps in the 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League:

Orange cap: David Warner (450 runs, bird: 75.00; SR: 145.16)

Purple Cap: Kagiso Rabada with 21 wickets (bird: 14.22; echo: 7.69)

For all the latest news, views and reviews of IPL 2019, click here

For the complete schedule, date, time and location of all IPL 12, click here

<! –

Publication date: April 21, 2019

| Date Updated: April 21, 2019


Date Updated: April 21, 2019 00:24:16 IST


Source link