List of awards from Walter Scott's book Revealed


My AccountImage copyright
Walter Scott Award

Image subtitle

The Walter Scott Prize was founded in 2009 and has a first prize of £ 25,000

The final candidates were unveiled for this year's Walter Scott Award for historical fiction.

The winner will be selected from the list of six books at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose in June.

Works by Peter Carey, Cressida Connolly, Samantha Harvey, Andrew Miller, Michael Ondaatje and Robin Robertson are underway this year.

Judges said the books on the list for the £ 25,000 prize were of "dazzling diversity."

Titles included are:

  • A long way home from Peter Carey
  • After the party by Cressida Connolly
  • The West Wind by Samantha Harvey
  • Now we will be entirely free by Andrew Miller
  • Warlight by Michael Ondaatje
  • The Long Take by Robin Robertson

In a statement, the judges said, "What a privilege it is to go on a journey through the fictitious centuries, to pick precious stones that shine for us, and to present them for new readers to discover.

"From the dark edges of cities to island rural communities and long-distance travel to intercontinental adventure history, our pre-selected books dare to investigate themes and problems in unique ways.

"In its tenth year, it is appropriate that the award is pushing the boundaries of historical fiction, keeping great writing as its most important criterion."

The winner will be announced at the Book of Frontiers Festival on June 15.


Source link