Monday , April 19 2021

radiography to the legislative work of senators

In Stock: Carolina Echagüe M.

It is no secret that Jacqueline van Rysselberghe and Alejandro Navarro, the two senators who represent the Bío Bío region in Congress, are at the ideological antipodes.

One in the UDI and one in the progressive country (formerly in the PS, MAS and Country), have made political rivalry a habit both in the Pachquist scene and in the Senate room, where they coincide since 2014.

And time, precisely, seems to have accentuated the distance. This is revealed by the "Report on voting in the Senate", prepared by the Legislative Observatory of the Information Center for Democracy of the University of Concepción (DemoData), which analyzed the votes from March 11 to October 25.

The text, by researchers Sergio Toro, Carolina Oñate and Javier Henríquez, he realizes that both parliamentarians are the respective extreme right and left at the national level.

According to the index of one-dimensional programmatic positioning (ideal point), the most conservative senator in Chile is Eat von Baer (UDI), followed by Jacqueline van Rysselberghe. Likewise, in the progressive wing, the left senator is the favorite Juan Ignacio Latorre (RD), followed by Alejandro Navarro.

At the center of the political map is Christian Democrat Carolina Goic, accompanied by her coreligionist Jorge Pizarro and RN Francisco Chahuán.

"Conditional" and "applied"

90% of the votes registered in the Senate are "in favor", differently from what happens in the lower house, where "yes" and "no" are interspersed by a relative balance. "The Senate room seems to be a place to ratify agreements that were largely adopted and agreed upon by the committees, rather than deliberation," says Sergio Toro, a UdeC scholar and director of DemoData.

Therefore, based on the remaining 10% (against and abstentions), the variability in legislators' behavior is appreciated. One is related to assistance.

The study qualifies as "conditional" the senators who participated in less than 60% of the votes without justifying their faults and "applied" to those who actually said gifts in more than 90% of the votes.

The "conditional" index is led by Jacqueline van Rysselberghe, followed by Felipe Harboe (PPD), Victor Perez (UDI), Andrés Allamand (RN), Iván Moreira (UDI), Jorge Soria (PPD) and Felipe Kast (Evópoli).

In addition, among the "applied" include Juan Castro (RN), Carmen Gloria Aravena (Evópoli), José Miguel Durana (UDI), David Sandoval (UDI), Álvaro Elizalde (PS) and Francisco Huenchumilla (DC).

Discipline and loyalty

The research obtained a party discipline index (Rice), understanding this concept as the alignment of positions, both for and against. In this context, all the collectivities have demonstrated a solid unification. However, with a small differential, it is inferred that it is more disciplined is the socialist. Further back, the UDI, RN, PPD and finally the Christian Democracy appear.

Individualized by the senator, DemoData also generated a measure of partisan loyalty. This, based on the discrepancies between the position of the collective and that of each parliamentarian analyzed. Thus, Juan Castro, David Sandoval, Álvaro Elizalde and Luz Eliana Ebensperger, appear as the most faithful senators.

In contrast, Jacqueline van Rysselberghe, Andrés Allamand, Felipe Harboe and Victor Pérez occupy the seat of the lowest adhesion.

The same indicator, now according to the parties, is expressive: first RN, according to the PS, third the UDI, fourth the DC and fifth the PPD.

Source link