Early counting of votes tightens electoral races in Calgary, Lethbridge


Voters in Calgary-Mountain View voted for Langevin School shortly after the polls opened on the morning of Tuesday, April 16, 2019.

Gavin Young / Postmedia

Shannon Phillips, the environment minister for Rachel Notley's NDP government, briefly held her seat at Lethbridge-West in one of Alberta's tighter races after a final countdown on Friday.

An up-to-date estimate of nearly 223,000 "anywhere" ballot papers left the overall results unchanged with Premier Jason Kenney and the United Conservative Party holding 63 of the province's 87 horsepower and the NDP capturing 24. The results will be made official by 26 Of april.

The provincial elections of 2019 marked the first time that the Alberta Elections allowed voters to vote at any polling station during early voting regardless of which party they lived in. These votes were only counted after the election on Tuesday.

Phillips, one of only four NDP candidates elected outside of Edmonton, overcame UCP rival Karri Flatla by only 225 votes out of about 24,000 total votes, according to Elections Alberta.

The province's fiercest test was in Calgary-Falconridge, where unofficial results show only 102 separate votes from the victorious Conservative candidate Devinder Toor and NDP's Parmeet Singh. Almost 15,000 votes were cast for riding.

Calgary-Currie President Brian Malkinson of the NDP said on Friday he granted a call to Nicholas Milliken of the UCP after nearly 400 votes.

"Nick won the confidence of Calgary-Currie," Malkinson posted on Twitter.

"I think Nick's heart is in the right place, and as he implements his parts plan, I hope he remembers that basic services like education, health, and PPD support are not numbers on a budget, they're needed for all constituents. Calgary Currie to advance together and take every possible opportunity. "

Anne McGrath of the NDP also awarded Calgary-Varsity to UCP candidate Jason Copping on Friday.

"Although this is not the result I wanted, I respect the choice made by the voters," McGrath posted on Twitter.

UCP's Miranda Rosin secured his victory in Banff-Kananaskis, where the updated count placed nearly 1,900 votes ahead of current NDP champion Cam Westhead.

"After a long and full of suspense for five days, I am honored to wake up today as your candidate for Banff-Kananaskis member," Rosin posted on her Facebook page on Friday.

"This race has been absolute, but results across Alberta could not be more exciting."

In Edmonton, 490 votes separated Jon Carson of the NDP from his closest rival, Nicole Williams of the UCP, in the West-Henday rally. Kaycee Madu captured the UCP's only seat in Edmonton, losing to defeating NDP John Archer by 712 votes in Edmonton-South West.

Elections According to Alberta, 71.1% of Albanians voted in the elections – the largest participation in decades – with more than 1,880,000 votes in the province.

Kenney must swear in his new cabinet on April 30.


Source link