Monday , October 18 2021

: Cummins gets first breakthrough


Honors even early in Boxing Day

Pat Cummins scored for the first time to Australia the elimination of India's Hunama Vihari with a short ball tactic at the third Dominion Test against Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

India made 1 to 42 in no time again when Cummins scored the Boxing Day test after captain Virat Kohli won the draw and opted to hit first.

Vihari and rookie Mayanak Agarwal made a new combination of opening for the visitors after Murali Vijay and KL Rahul were eliminated. Both were hit by short balls in the first hour in a field that seemed flat, with little movement in the air or outside the seam.

Another long Cummins ball is heading toward the helmet of Vihari when he again ducked, and lifted his head to Aaron Finch claiming the strap on the cord.

Cummins delight in Boxing Day present

Australia made a move to XI in the clash with Boxing Day, with Mitchell Marsh summoning Peter Handscomb.

Captain Tim Paine revealed his side to the game after Australia's Christmas morning at MCG.

Meanwhile, India suffered a blow with team management confirming that the spinner Ravichandran Ashwin did not completely recover from an abdominal strain and will not be available for the MCG Test, with BCCI also confirming its XI.

Mayank Agarwal will make his debut while center backs KL Rahul and Murali Vijay have been eliminated.

"It's a long series, our players have had a heavy workload and we feel we'll need Mitch's bowling at some point," Paine told reporters.

"I'm sure Pete would be upset. I think he had conversations with the pickers that there are some things they would like him to work on and Pete is open to it.

"Pete at his best will score a lot of test races and not just his hitter, he brings a lot to our side in terms of fielding, his experience and the way he usually goes about his cricket.

"We are sure he will make many races through Australia."

Paine said he does not believe that dropping a player from a victorious XI would affect Australia's momentum in the four-game series.

"No, I think so, we did it last year during the ashes too. Most of that decision has been based on a long series, we played on many hot days and our players had a great chance." work load.

"We believe Mitch can come in and do a good job with the baton and obviously he will give great support to our players."

Australia XI: Aaron Finch, Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Tim Paine (c), Cummins Pat, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India XI: Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Mayar Agarwal, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

India Domain Test Series

December 6th to 10th: India won by 31 races

December 14 to 18: Australia won by 146 races

December 26 to 30: Third Test, MCG

January 3-7: Test room, SCG

Squadron of Australia: Tim Paine (c, wk), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Mitch Marsh (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Archie Schiller

Squadron of India: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Mayar Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Pandik Hardik, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Source link