Chris Jones of Roughriders captures the honor of CFL Coach of the Year


EDMONTON – Chris Jones of the Saskatchewan Roughriders was named CFL Coach of the Year on Thursday night.

Jones, also general manager of Riders, was honored at the league's awards banquet.

The voting was conducted by Football Reporters of Canada and nine CFL coaches.

In his third season with the Riders, Jones led the franchise to a 12-6 record and second place in the Western Division. That was the one that matched the franchise's victories since the 1970s and also assured Saskatchewan their first home game since 2013.

Jones was the architect of a Saskatchewan defender who scored the most touchdowns in franchise history (11) and led the league in the offense of the opposing network (317.5 yards per game), forced the highest number of playoffs (107) and tied for any less. bags allowed.

Coach Jones led the Roughriders to 12 wins this season, which most matches since 1970. He becomes the fifth driver to win the honor and the first since Corey Chamblin in 2013.

Rick Campbell of Ottawa Redblacks, the best coach of the league in 2015, was the finalist. Campbell's team will face the Calgary Stampeders in the Gray Cup on Sunday.


Source link