Australia to search first in Adelaide Test


India captain Virat Kohli won the prize draw and was elected the first in the Open Summer Domination Test at Adelaide Oval, with visitors naming limited star Rohit Sharma in his XI.

Australian captain Tim Paine has missed what could be a crucial move given the scorching temperatures in Adelaide with Kohli confirming Rohit will hit number 6 after beating Hanuman Vihari.

Crack Marcus Harris received his Baggy Green on Thursday morning from Michael Hussey, with the opening becoming the 456th Australian cricketer.

Paine confirmed in the match eve allrounder Mitch Marsh, just two tests after being named co-captain of the team, were eliminated.

Marcus Harris and his family with his new Baggy Green // Getty
Marcus Harris and his family with his new Baggy Green // Getty

The man he replaced in Australia's XI during the ashes last summer, batsman Peter Handscomb, was included at Marsh's expense, filling a middle order also made up of Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh and Travis Head ahead of wicketkeeper Paine.

Harris will open the attack with third-placed Aaron Finch, who did not open to Victoria's level at Sheffield Shield in five years, although he has thrived against the new restricted cricket ball.

Paine will have only four specialized players to call, although the quality of his attack is undoubtedly the team's asset.

Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins return to the team after losing the recent Australian series against Pakistan, meeting with Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon.

"They (the fast bowling trio) were a bit scary," Head told before playing. "They are eager to go – it's good to have all three together, praised by GOAT (Lyon).

"They pulled out the parking brake and hopefully they can keep it on for the whole week."

The fastest players Peter Siddle, holder of the Two-Test UAE series, and Chris Tremain are the other unused members of the 14-man team in the first two tests against India.

Rohit played the last of his 25 tests against South Africa in January this year, but toured Australia before, averaging 28.83 in six half-century entries in 2014-15.

Rohit Sharma (center) won the nod to beat No.6 // AAP
Rohit Sharma (center) won the nod to beat No.6 // AAP

India will also line up without a quick supplement, although it was not by choice that Hardik Pandya was lost to the series due to a back injury.

Kohli said his frontline riders have no choice but to embrace the challenge of enduring long periods in difficult conditions.

"The workload of the guys who will play in the absence of the allrounder will be high, but it is something that has already been discussed, that they should wait for it and not think of it as a burden and something that will be difficult," he said.

"Because internationally, things are going to be difficult.

"We're just going to have to embrace this and do something with the resources we have today."

A scorching start to the summer test is scheduled, with mercury set to rise to 39C on Thursday

– with AAP

Australia XI: Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c week), Pat Cummins, Mitch Starc, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood

India XI: KL Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Muhammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma

India Domain Test Series

December 6th to 10th: First Test, Adelaide Oval

December 14 to 18: Second Test, Perth Stadium

December 26 to 30: Third Test, MCG

January 3-7: Test room, SCG

Squadron of Australia: Tim Paine (c, wk), Josh Hazlewood (vc), Mitch Marsh (vc), Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Chris Tremain

Squadron of India: Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (week), Parthiv Patel (week), Ravi Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami , Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar


Source link