2020 World T20 in Australia; Australia faces defending champion West Indies and Pakistan


  • Arqui rivals expect women in the brutal T20 group
  • Cummins smokes some of the biggest Australian players

Australia had a horror for next year's Twenty20 World Cup, forced to face Pakistan's first-place finisher in their tournament debut followed by defending champion West Indies.

However, to win a T20 World Cup title, Australia will have the best chance to play at home in October and November next year. But his hopes were dealt a cruel blow on Tuesday.

Only two teams will advance outside Group A, which also contains New Zealand and two qualifiers.

"All the equipment looks very strong," said deputy captain Alex Carey.

media_cameraAustralians expect much better than their performance in 2016.

"(But) a real benefit is playing on our own. We play a lot of Big Bash and T20 here and we know the conditions are huge.

"Saying there are a lot of players around the world who play BBL and have a good view as well."

Australia were unable to leave the group stage in either of the last two tournaments, and only made the final once in six attempts – losing to England in 2010.

"It's just an execution at these key moments," said Glenn Maxwell.

"Looking at the T20 World Cup in India, we played a great cricket during that period.

"Unfortunately Virat (Kholi) caught us in that last game (in a group).

"A great player like him can have a day off and there is not much to do about it. It's about finding a way to get your best player. "

Australia's preparation for the T20 will increase after this year's World Cup with 21 international competitions already scheduled in the space of 13 months before the home tournament.

Selectors have used 31 players in the last two years alone – the latter equal most of the eight teams that have qualified.

"In an ideal world, you probably want a set team, but with so much cricket now you have to hit the mix," Carey said.

AUSTRALIA's DRAW * October 24 v Pakistan, SCG * October 28 v West Indies, Perth Stadium * October 31 v Qualifier, Gabba * November 3 v Qualifier, Adelaide Oval * November 6 v New Zealand, MCG * Semi-finals: November 11, SCG; November 12, Adelaide Oval * Final: November 15, MCG


Source link