The help of Conmebol to Argentina for the Copa América that raises doubts in Colombia


Fifa announced the national team's ranking on Thursday, Argentina ranked third among representatives of the South American Football Confederation and took Colombia the benefit of being one of three seeds of the next Copa America to be played in Brazil.

The conflict

On November 23, CONMEBOL established in a meeting in Buenos Aires that the heads of the series would be defined by the FIFA ranking, which already implied that Brazil and Uruguay will be part of the first round because they are the two best teams in America. South.

The other would be Colombia, as the Uruguayan Pedro Bordaberry, chairman of the Uruguayan Football Association Regularization Commission, anticipated, in what seemed an inopportune statement, since it is not clear whether the last ranking of the year or last year. that moment.

That is, Colombia was the third South American team until November 23, before the update of that month and December.

Why did Argentina surpass Colombia?

For not having played friendlies on the last date of the FIFA, Argentina, on the other hand, and for that he added points and stole coffee from his place.


Position / Selection / Points

3 Brazil 1,676

7 Uruguay 1,609

11 Argentina 1,582

12 Colombia 1,575

13 Chile 1,565

20 Peru 1.518

31 Venezuela 1,478

32 Paraguay 1,476

57 Ecuador 1,382

59 Bolivia 1,374

Cup schedule

It will take place between June 14 and July 7 in six venues: Maracaná, Rio de Janeiro, Mineirão, Belo Horizonte, Grêmio Arena in Porto Alegre, Fonte Nova Arena in Salvador, and two in São Paulo, in Morumbi and the Corinthians Arena.

Such anticipated Conmebol, the opening match will play in Brazil in Morumbi.

The semifinals of 2 and 3 of July, will have stage in Belo Horizonte and Porto Alegre, and the great end in the Maracanã.

The 46th edition of Copa America returns to Brazil after 30 years of absence, will be disputed by the ten members of Conmebol and Japan and Qatar as invited countries.


Bolillero 1: Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina
Bolillero 2: Colombia, Chile and Peru
Bolillero 3: Venezuela, Paraguay and Japan
Bolillero 4: Ecuador, Bolivia and Qatar


Source link