South American Cup: a difficult confrontation for Racing in the premiere – 12/17/2018


In addition to the 2018 Copa Libertadores draw, the Copa Sudamericana was played tonight in Asunción, which will have six Argentines among the participants.

"The South American Cup will have great economic benefits and awards," said Alejandro Dominguez, president of the South American Football Confederation, in his brief speech in the preliminary draw of the second tournament in the order of South American football.

The six Argentine teams that will participate in the 2019 edition were very lucky. While Racing, the leader of the Super League, will face the powerful Corinthians of Brazil (although he finished thirteenth in the Brasileirão), first in San Pablo and later in Avellaneda, Independiente will face debutant Binational Sports of Peru (department of Puno), defining the series as a visitor.

Argentinos Juniors will first receive Estudiantes de Mérida and then travel to Venezuela. Santa Fe's clubs, curiously, will define the cross series. Colón will face the Municipal Deportivo, first in Peru and defining in Santa Fe, while the Union will face Independiente del Valle, the return in Ecuador. Finally, Defensa y Justicia will first visit Botafogo in Rio de Janeiro and define it in Florencio Varela.

The games of the first round of the first round of South America have four dates of disputes: 06/02, 13/02, 18/03 and 01/04. The twists, in turn, these four: 20/2, 27/02, 17/04 and 01/05. The 22 winners of this instance will be added in the 16th. of the final in the second will be added the eight teams that finish in the third position of the groups of the Copa Libertadores and another two that will leave the recapture.

In the draw, the teams were divided into two zones, to the south, formed by Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay, and the north, with Brazil, Colombia, Peru, Ecuador and Venezuela. The first team that emerged was the Montevideo Wanderers that will face the Sport Huancayo of Peru, defining in the country Inca. The locations were already pre-set.

The South American champion will receive an economic prize of 6,575,000 dollars, distributed as follows: 300,000 to participate in the first phase, 375,000 in the 16th, 500,000 in the eighth final, 600,000 in the final quarters, 800 for being a semifinalist, adding four million dollars to win the final. The runner-up will total $ 4,575,000. This year, Atletico Paranaense, the last champion, added a total of $ 4.425,000 to his treasure. The Copa will be broadcast by DirecTV and that is why the journalist Pablo Giralt was in the presentation.

The rest of the meetings

The other 15 games were so, naming first the team that will be local in the first stage: Bahia (Brazil) – Liverpool (Uruguay); Río Negro (Colombia) – Bolivia 2; Spanish Union (Chile) -Mushuc Runa (Ecuador); UT Cajamarca (Peru) – Atletico Cerro (Uruguay); Deportivo Santaní (Paraguay) – Once Caldas (Colombia); Catholic University (Ecuador) -Colo Colo (Chile); River Plate (Uruguay) – Santos (Brazil); Deportivo Macará (Ecuador) -Deportivo Guabirá (Bolivia); Bolivia 1-Monagas (Venezuela); Mineiros (Venezuela) – Sol de América (Paraguay); Union La Calera (Chile) – Chapecoense (Brazil), Deportivo Cali (Colombia) -Guaraní (Paraguay); Bolivia 3- Zulia (Venezuela); Independent of Campo Grande (Paraguay) -La Equidad (Colombia); Fluminense (Brazil) -Deportivo Antofagasta (Chile).


Source link