Friday , October 22 2021

2018 South African Hip-Hop Awards: These are the nominees


The South African Hip-Hop Awards of 2018 (# SAHHA2018) is here and the conversation is already heated about who deserved to be featured and who should have been left out.

The indications were announced on Monday and the discussion is already centered around who will get the coveted Song of the Year premium.

What are the South African Hip-Hop Awards?

This year, it should be noted, the South African music industry will be tuned in to see if # SAHHA2018 has improved by making the right and deserved choices in the selection of its winners.

The awards ceremony seeks to celebrate hip-hop musicians who achieved and grew up in 2017/2018. According to site # SAHHA2018, the awards ceremony is managed by the Ritual Media Group (RMG). The coveted prize comes in the form of what they call the Pyramid.

Read – Lerato Sengadi intensifies fight against Tsambo family

On the subject of how the voting works, this is what is written on the site:

The vote is based 100% on the judges' scores for the following categories: Album of the Year; Best Dance Crew; Best DJ; Best freshman; Best Graffiti; Best International Brand; Best Local Brand; Hustler of the year; Lyricist of the year; Mixtape of the year; Most valuable; Producer of the Year; Promoter of the Year and the whole King of "…"

The vote is based on the judges' scores and the votes of the public (60% of the judges and 40% of the public) for the 5 main categories: Best Collaboration, Best Woman, Best Man, Best Video, and Song of the Year. Voting is based 100% on online votes for the following category: Best Hip Hop Radio Show.

# Named SAHHA2018

These are the artists that have been nominated in each participating category:

Song of the Year

  1. Riky Rick – Keep shining
  2. Unpleasant C Send me away
  3. Zakwe ft Various Artists – Sebentin
  4. Nadia Nakai ft Cassper Nyovest – Naa Mean
  5. DJ Speedsta ft OkMalumKoolKat – Combos Communicating
  6. Anatii – Thixo Onofefe
  7. Kwesta ft Wale – Spirit
  8. Unpleasant C ft ASAP Ferg – King
  9. Child X ft Chiano Sky – Tiazinha
  10. Cassper Nyovest – Ksazobalit

Best album

  1. Zakwe – Cebisa
  2. Unpleasant C Ropes N Bling
  3. Da Les – High life
  4. Blaklez – Little brother
  5. K.O- SR2

Mixtape of the year

  1. Slikour Onlife – 2017 Incubator Class
  2. DJ Sliqe – Black Navy
  3. Stogie T- Honey and Pain
  4. Gigi Lamayne – SAW
  5. Moozlie – Versus

Best Male

  1. Unpleasant C
  2. Blaklez
  3. KO
  4. Zakwe
  5. Da Les

Best female

  1. Nelz
  2. Gigi Lamayne
  3. Moozlie
  4. Fifi Cooper
  5. Tyrant

DJ of the year

  1. DJ Speedsta
  2. Akio
  3. Junior De Rocka
  4. DJ Sliqe
  5. Ms Cosmo

Producer of the Year

  1. Makwa Beats
  2. Gemini Major
  3. Tweezy
  4. Co-kayn hits
  5. Zooci Coke Dope

Best Collabo

  1. Boity ft nasty C – Wuz Dat
  2. DJ Speedsta ft OkMalumKoolKat – Combos Communicating
  3. DJ Capital, Kwesta, Reason and Kid X – Skebe Dep Dep
  4. Unpleasant C ft ASAP Ferg – King
  5. Child X ft Chiano Sky – Tiazinha
  6. Ms Cosmo ft Moozlie, Rouge and Sho Madjozi – Ay baby
  7. Nadia Nakai ft Cassper Nyovest – Naa Mean
  8. Riky Rick ft Cassper Nyovest, Teacher and Major League DJs – Keep shining

Lyricist of the Year

  1. Unpleasant C
  2. Stogie T
  3. Zakwe
  4. Gingerbread
  5. PDotO

Freshman of the year (newcomer)

  1. Big Zulu
  2. Saudi
  3. Moozlie
  4. Tyrant

Hustler of the Year

  1. Cassper Nyovest
  2. Rouge
  3. Saying
  4. Slikour Onlife
  5. Kwesta

Best Dance Crew

  1. Supreme I Crew
  2. 2Legitt Crew
  3. Creed crew
  4. Survivor Dance Crew

Best video

  1. L-Tido ft Phoenix – I'm back
  2. Zakwe ft Cassper Nyovest – Sebentin
  3. Unpleasant C Jungle
  4. Ms Cosmo ft Moozlie, Rouge and Sho Madjozi – Ay baby
  5. Nadia Nakai ft Cassper Nyovest – Naa Mean
  6. Cassper Nyovest – Ksazobalit
  7. Anatii – Thixo Onofefe
  8. Kwesta ft Wale – Spirit
  9. Nadia Nakai ft Frank Casino – Money Calling
  10. Riky Rick ft Cassper Nyovest, Teacher and Major League DJs – Keep shining

Best graffiti

  1. Drake MHC
  2. Senzart
  3. Dbongz

Best local brand

  1. Genealogy
  2. StylaGang Original Designs
  3. Butanwear

Best international brand

  1. Power Game
  2. KFC
  3. Castle Lite

Promoter of the Year

  1. Bottles burst
  2. Major League Gardens
  3. Lavie Junior
  4. Until until
  5. Kool Out

Milestone Award

Cassper Nyovest – for his work on completing FNB Stadium.

Best Digital Sales

Kwesta – has accumulated the most digital sales to Spirit (2017-2018)

Most Valuable Player (MVP)

  1. Cassper Nyovest
  2. Rick Riky
  3. Kwesta
  4. Unpleasant C
  5. Saying

Best remix

  1. DJ Capital, Kwesta, Youngsta, CPT, Stogie T, Kid X and Reason – Skebe Dep Dep (remix)
  2. Zakwe ft Musiholiq, Nyovest, Blaklez, Kwesta, HHP and Prokid – Sebentin (remix)
  3. Jovilash ft Flabba, HHP, Mr. Selwyn & Infadizle – Ya Kwini (remix)
  4. Beatmochini ft Towdeemac, Skillo, Nasi Profresher-KT, Lection and Khuli Chana – Wata Mafia Gon Do (remix)
  5. Riky Rick ft Les, Youngsta CPT, Frank Cassino, Stilo Magolide, J Molley & KLY – Buy it out (remix)

Best radio show

  1. YFM – SA Hip Hop Live
  2. Uhozi FM – iNumba Numba
  3. 5FM – 16 Rechargeable Bars
  4. Goodhope FM – The Ready D Show
  5. Metro FM – Absolute Hip Hop
  6. – Trailblazer
  7. Motsweding FM – Motshwako wa Hip Hop
  8. Gagazi FM – Hip Hop Session
  9. Radio Bushbuckridge – Rhythm & Flow
  10. 5FM – The Stir Up

Source link